Consumer Information

Incorporation and Sponsorship

Founded by the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration, Viterbo is a Catholic, Franciscan university located in La Crosse, Wisconsin. Its direct predecessor, St. Rose Normal School, was founded in 1890 with a mission to prepare sisters to serve as teachers. The accredited school evolved into St. Rose Junior College in 1932, Viterbo College in 1937, and Viterbo University in 2000. Viterbo College was incorporated in 1960 as a not-for-profit institution and is authorized by the State of Wisconsin. Viterbo operates in compliance with Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (as amended). In 2018, the FSPA transferred sponsorship authority to Viterbo Ministries, a Roman Catholic Public Juridic Person charged with ensuring that Viterbo remains rooted in its Catholic, Franciscan identity, mission, and educational philosophy.

Higher Education Opportunity Act

The Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA) was enacted in 2008 and reauthorizes the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended HEA. In accordance with the HEOA, this page provides students and the public with consumer information on Viterbo University's policies, procedures, operations, and costs.

Availability of Institutional and Financial Aid

Student Financial Assistance

General Institutional Information

Price of Attendance

Net Price Calculators

Academic Program

Copyright Infringement Policies and Sanctions

Complaint Policy and Process

Student Outcomes

Teacher Preparation Program Report

Health and Safety

Intercollegiate Athletic Program

Voter Registration Information

Page Maintenance

This page was updated by the Division of Institutional and Instructional Effectiveness on 2/28/2024.