Viterbo University Winter Commencement Dec. 16

Monday, December 4, 2023

Dec. 5, 2023

Contact Anthony Slaby at 608-796-3042 or


LA CROSSE, Wis. – One hundred undergraduate and 26 graduate students will be candidates for graduation at Viterbo University’s winter commencement ceremony at 11 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 16 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre.

Kylie Krahn, an accounting and music double major from Viroqua, will give the undergraduate student address. Tonya Wagner, vice president for academic affairs and institutional effectiveness, will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Rick Walters, professor and executive artistic director of the Conservatory for the Performing Arts, will present the candidates. President Rick Trietley will confer the degrees and diplomas will be awarded by John McHugh, chair of the Board of Trustees, and President Trietley. Board of Trustees member Cynthia Hougum will provide congratulatory remarks and Fr. Conrad Targonski, OFM, will give the benediction. Kathy Duerwachter, director of alumni engagement and affinity giving, will lead the Prayer of St. Francis.

Apryl Denny, professor of English, will receive the title of Professor Emeritus.

The day will begin with a Baccalaureate Mass at 9 a.m. in San Damiano Chapel. A nursing pinning ceremony will be held 30 minutes after the conclusion of the commencement ceremony.