Viterbo employees honored at annual Rose Awards ceremony

Thursday, May 2, 2024
Dan Johnson-Wilmot and Nicky Rose

Dan Johnson-Wilmot, music, was named the 2024 Teacher of the Year at the annual Viterbo University Rose Awards ceremony May 2.

“Dan Johnson-Wilmot is an exemplary professor who goes above and beyond for each and every student in his classroom and the voice studio,” wrote the student who nominated him for the award. “Through Dan’s phenomenal teaching skills and techniques, he challenged me to become a stronger musician, performer, and singer than I ever could have imagined. As my professor, he single-handedly turned my Viterbo experience from good to great.”

Nicky Rose, academics, was named Employee of the Year.

“In my opinion, Nicky is a most humble, knowledgeable, and friendliest person on campus,” wrote the person who nominated her for the award. “She bends over backwards to help. Nicky is a genuine person, and I have always admired her as a symbol exhibiting the Viterbo values.”

Others honored at the Rose Awards were:

  • Jennifer Anderson-Meger, School of Human Behavior, received the Sr. Helen Elsbernd Distinguished Service Award, which is presented to a person who has provided outstanding service to the university for more than 20 years, typically in more than one capacity.
  • Rick Kyte, director of the D.B. Reinhart Institute for Ethics in Leadership, was presented with the Alec Chiu Award, which is given for exceptional work in fostering and developing scholarly opportunities for both students and faculty.
  • The advancement and counseling services departments received the Pax et Bonum Award, which is given in recognition of demonstrating the Franciscan values of service, respect, hospitality, stewardship, and joy throughout the Viterbo community.
  • Kristen Nyholm, advising and career development, was presented with the Outstanding Advisor of the Year award for her work with students.
  • Chris Sanger, advancement, was presented with the St. Francis Mission Award, which is given to a person who has demonstrated exemplary dedication to the mission of the university.
  • Receiving Servant Leader Awards for outstanding leadership were Melissa Giefer, diversity, equity, and inclusion, Andy Nauman, Fine Arts Center, Wanda Padgett, Aramark (retired), Ryan Thibodeau, admissions, and Jenny Waters, College of Business, Leadership, and Ethics.
  • Receiving Outstanding Adjunct Professor Awards for their respective schools were Amanda Meyer, College of Business, Leadership, and Ethics; Avery Erickson, College of Nursing and Health; Chris Shaw, College of Engineering, Letters, and Sciences; Denise Rivera, Conservatory for the Performing Arts; and Jill Peterson, School of Education.

For more photos from the ceremony, visit the Flickr photo gallery.