Viterbo University Winter Commencement Dec. 17

Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Dec. 6, 2022

Contact Anthony Slaby at 608-796-3042 or


LA CROSSE, Wis. – One hundred two undergraduate students and 32 graduate degree students will be candidates for graduation at Viterbo University’s winter commencement ceremony at 2 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 17 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre.

Tonya Wagner, interim vice president for academic affairs and institutional effectiveness, will serve as Master of Ceremonies. Nathan Janzen, a music and finance double major, will give the undergraduate student address and Rebecca Roble, who will earn a Master of Science in Mental Health Counseling, will give the graduate student address.

Megan Smith, associate professor and associate dean of the School of Nursing will present the candidates. President Rick Trietley will confer the degrees and diplomas will be awarded by John McHugh, chair of the board of trustees, and President Trietley. Board of trustees member Paul Mueller, MD, will provide congratulatory remarks and Fr. Conrad Targonski, OFM, will give the benediction. Kathy Duerwachter, director of alumni relations, will lead the Prayer of St. Francis.

Mary Ellen Stolder, dean of the College of Nursing and Health, will receive the title of Professor Emeritus.

The day will begin with a Nursing Pinning Ceremony at 8:30 a.m. the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre followed by Sending and Blessing Reception at 9:30 a.m. in the Fine Arts Center FSPA Lobby. A Baccalaureate Mass will be held at 10:30 a.m. in San Damiano Chapel.