2003 - Through the Looking Glass
2009 Humanities Symposium


The Viterbo University School of Letters and Sciences presents

Through the Looking Glass: Media, Perception, and Reality

Feb. 3–6, 2003

Vote Democrat; vote Republican. Buy Ford; buy Toyota. Gain weight; lose weight. Every day, non-stop, we're bombarded with competing messages by an array of media. All we're left with are questions. How does the media influence our sense of community, our lives, and ourselves? Find answers and shape your own reality at this symposium.

Monday, Feb. 3
7:30 p.m. Adventures in the Memory Hole: The U.S. Media Before and After 9/11
Fine Arts Center Main Theatre
Mark Crispin Miller-professor of media ecology and director of the Project on Media Ownership at New York University, and author of The Bush Dyslexicon
Tuesday, Feb. 4
5 p.m. Community Journalism
Fine Arts Center Lobby
Moderator: Anne Paape, WKBT-TV 8
Panelists: Sean Dwyer, WXOW-TV 19; Gene Purcell, WLSU Radio; Scott Robert Shaw, WIZM Radio; and John Smalley, La Crosse Tribune
7:30 p.m. Black Media: The Same Facts, a Different Reality
Fine Arts Center Main Theatre
Keith Murphy-a radio broadcaster for WMCS-AM in Milwaukee with 17 years of experience in large markets like Baltimore and Washington, D.C.
Wednesday, Feb. 5
7:30 p.m. Media May Be Harmful to Women and Other Thinking Beings
Fine Arts Center Main Theatre
Jennifer Pozner-a journalist; media critic; and founder of Women in Media and News


Feb. 6

4:30 p.m. Media Literacy Workshop: Turn On, Plug In, Boot Up: Strategies for Responsible Media Use
Fine Arts Center Lobby
7:30 p.m. Media and the First Amendment
Fine Arts Center Main Theatre
Jane Kirtley-director of the Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics, professor of media ethics and law at the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Minnesota

This Humanities Symposium is funded in part by a grant from the Wisconsin Humanities Council, with funds from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the State of Wisconsin. It is also supported by Denzer Memorial Endowment Funds.