peace and harmony

Viterbo University
Environmental Responsibility Committee

In 2009, Viterbo University President, Rick Artman, formed a new standing committee designed to prepare recommendations, promote, support, and implement decisions by the president and cabinet concerning environmental sustainability initiatives. The Environmental Responsibility Committee was created with representatives from the staff, administration, faculty, student government, residence hall council, and others as appointed by the president. The committee met in fall 2009 to established a set of responsibilities to guide its actions. These responsibilities include the following: 

  • Foster continual awareness of Viterbo University’s environmental impact, activities, and efficiencies.  
  • Promote individual environmentally sound practices that affect the teaching, learning, living, and working environment at the university.  
  • Establish institution-wide conservation, recycling, and other sustainable practices.  
  • Seek practices and procedures that minimize negative impacts on the environment.  
  • Foster integration of sustainability into the curriculum.  
  • Plan, review, and monitor our environmental policy and practices.  

Check out Viterbo Sustainability Day 2013

  Committee members:

Sarah Bearbower       Director of Integrated Technology
Carma Burfield  Director of Catering
Vicky Eiben  Assistant Professor, Education
Alyssa Gray 

Student Goverment Association

Karen Hurtgen  Coordinator, Copy Center
Christopher Iremonger  Assistant Professor,Biology
Deb Kappmeyer  Director, Publications and Web Design
Eugene McCurdy  Director, Physical Plant
Joe Miller   Assistant Professor, Art
R. Jean Salk  Assistant Professor, Business (Chair)
Sister Lucille Slinger  Assistant Professor, Sustainability Majors Coordinator
Fr. Conrad Targonski  Chaplain
Vickie Unferth  Director of Residence Life











The Environmental Responsibility Committee meets monthly, Minutes.