Viterbo University Spring Commencement May 10

May 1, 2014

Contact Amy Gleason at
608-796-3182 or


CROSSE, Wis. – Four hundred thirty-four students, 348 undergraduate, 81
graduate, and five associate degree students, will be candidates for graduation
at Viterbo University’s spring commencement ceremony at 2 p.m. Saturday, May 10
at the La Crosse Center.

Barbara Gayle, vice president for academic
affairs, will serve as Master of Ceremonies, and Samantha Weaver, a management
major from Trempealeau, will give the student address. Kathy Duerwachter ’10,
Viterbo director of alumni relations, will give the alumni welcome. Viterbo
President Rick Artman will confer the degrees and Kent Handel, chair of the
Board of Trustees, will provide the congratulatory remarks. Keith Knutson,
chair of the faculty council, and fellow faculty member Rick Walters will
present the candidates. The diplomas will be awarded by President Artman and
Handel. Marie Kyle, FSPA ’60, will lead the Prayer of St. Francis and Fr.
Conrad Targonski, OFM, will give the benediction. In a special ceremony,
retiring faculty members Lyon Evans, English, Bonnie Nesbitt, nursing, and Ed
Wenzel, education will be awarded the title of Professor Emerita/us.

A Baccalaureate Mass will be held
that morning at 11 a.m. in Mary of the Angels Chapel at St. Rose Convent. Fr.
Targonski will preside at the liturgy.

The nursing pinning ceremony will be
held at 7 p.m. Friday, May 9 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre. The BSN
Completion program pinning ceremony will be held at 8:30 a.m. May 10 in the
Fine Arts Center Recital Hall. A ceremony in which master’s degree candidates
receive their academic hoods will be held at 9:45 a.m. May 11 in the Fine Arts
Center Main Theatre.