School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering

3+3 Agreement

November 7, 2003


LA CROSSE, Wis.—Students who want to pursue a career in chiropractic medicine are finding it easier than ever thanks to a 3+3 agreement between Viterbo University in La Crosse and Logan College of Chiropractic in St. Louis, Mo. It is the only agreement Logan College of Chiropractic has made with a university in Wisconsin.

The agreement allows students to complete a Bachelor of Science degree at Viterbo University and a Doctor of Chiropractic degree at Logan College of Chiropractic in one year less than it would usually take. Undergraduate students would take three years of study at Viterbo then transfer to Logan for three additional years. The student would then be able to transfer 34 credits from their first year at Logan back to Viterbo upon successful completion. Those credits would serve as their fourth year at Viterbo and Viterbo would issue the student an undergraduate degree.

According to Patrick Browne, vice president for enrollment services at Logan College of Chiropractic, "This partnership provides pre-chiropractic students at Viterbo a direct pathway to fulfill their professional education at Logan College. It's a great opportunity for students seeking a career as a chiropractic physician."

Students interested in participating in this program must maintain a 3.25 grade point average during their three years at Viterbo and pass an interview at Logan College of Chiropractic to ensure themselves a spot in the program.

"This agreement will help us better serve our students," said Kim Fredricks, a biology professor at Viterbo and pre-chiropractic advisor. "It takes the stress off of our students when they’re planning their future. They always seem to have in the back of their mind, what if I don’t make it into chiropractic school? Now, they know that if they meet the basic requirements, they’re guaranteed a spot at Logan College of Chiropractic."

Logan College of Chiropractic was established in 1935 and has over 7,000 alumni around the world. It is an accredited, non-profit institution that teaches chiropractic medicine on a 112-acre wooded campus.

Established in 1890, Viterbo University is a four-year, co-educational, liberal arts college. It was founded more than a century ago by the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration.