News Archives     Campus Events     University Publications

Viterbo Employees Honored at Rose Awards

Rochelle Brooks, Professor of Business, was named Viterbo’s 2012 Teacher of the Year at the annual Rose Awards ceremony May 3.

“Rochelle is a top-notch teacher and Viterbo should be ecstatic to have her as a professor,” wrote one student who nominated her for the award. “She is always there for students in and out of the classroom.”

Chad Gilbeck, instructional and information technology, was named Employee of the Year.

“For the thousands of big and small fixes he performs for students and employees each year with a smile and a joke, Chad deserves this recognition,” wrote the person who nominated him. “There isn’t a person on campus who doesn’t feel comfortable calling Chad because he shows daily how much he knows and how willing he is to serve.”

            Others honored at the Rose Awards were:

  • Michael Smuksta, history, received the Sr. Helen Elsbernd Distinguished Service Award, which is presented to a person who has provided outstanding service to the university for more than 20 years, typically in more than one capacity.
  • Mary Ellen Haupert, music, was presented with the Alec Chiu Award, which is given for exceptional work Viterbo to foster and develop scholarly opportunities for both students and faculty.
  • Jan Janiszewski, history, received the Father J. Thomas Finucan Exemplar of Mission Award. The award is given to a person who has demonstrated exemplary dedication to the mission of the university.
  • The custodial staff received the Pax et Bonum Award, which is given in recognition of the demonstrating the Franciscan values of service, respect, hospitality, stewardship, and joy throughout the Viterbo community.
  • Melissa Growt, academic counselor, was presented with the Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advisor Award for her work with students.
  • Betty Pfaff, education, was presented with the Outstanding Graduate Academic Advisor Award for her work with students.
  • Receiving Servant Leader Awards for outstanding leadership were Greg Erpenbach, physical plant; Amy Gleason, registrar; Sue Hauser, fine arts; Ward Jones, biology; and Rolf Samuels, English.
  • Receiving Outstanding Adjunct Professor Awards for their respective schools were Susan Johnson, School of Letters and Sciences; Jen Brown, School of Fine Arts; Kristine Gerke, Dahl School of Business; Marsha Kurth, Center for Adult Learning; Donna Ferry, School of Nursing; and Jennifer Slusser, School of Education.

Recent News

Icon University of Opportunity: Hope and Help Campaign Announcement

Since the trustees-approved University of Opportunity: Hope and Help comprehensive campaign began quietly in January 2008, $37 million of the $40 million goal has been raised.

Icon Viterbo Granted Approval to Offer First Doctorate Program: Doctor of Nursing Practice
The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges (HLC) has granted Viterbo University approval to offer a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree beginning this fall.
Icon Viterbo University Named to G.I. Jobs List of Military Friendly Schools
Viterbo University has been named to G.I. Jobs 2013 list of Military Friendly Schools, which recognizes the top 15 percent of colleges, universities, and trade schools nationwide that deliver the best experience for military students.

RSS FeedSubscribe to RSS Feed      News Archives
University Publications