News Archives     Campus Events     University Publications

April 22, 2003


LA CROSSE, Wis.—A local community service organization and 45 area students were honored for exceptional community service and commitment during a special program on Tuesday, April 15 at Viterbo University.

Rotary Lights of La Crosse received the President’s Award for outstanding and selfless contributions in service to our neighbors and community. Pat Stephens, one of the founders of Rotary Lights, accepted the award.

The 45 students recognized for their volunteerism were selected by individual schools in the Coulee Region for participation in the program.  The schools that have chosen to participate are: Aquinas, Central, Holmen, La Crescent, Logan, Onalaska, and West Salem high schools; Western Wisconsin Technical College, the University of Wisconsin—La Crosse, and Viterbo University.

The eighth Annual Volunteer Recognition Night was a special way of thanking all of the student volunteers who help make the Coulee Region better place to live.

VOLUNTEERS HONORED WERE (Note students from your cities/towns):

Aquinas High School: Rob Cooper, Amanda Cowans, Katie Mears, Margaret Nimocks, Kelly Sye, and Emily Tanke.

Central High School: Alicia Bush, Annikki Johnston, David Pankratz, Jonah Paul, Joseph Roerkohl, and Allen Thompson.

Holmen High School: Jenna Bagniewski, Jenny Delaney, Jenna Euler, Stephanie Galstad, Britta Odgren, and Nathan Smaby.

La Crescent High School: Nicole Burow, Andrew Duggan, Matthew Hobelsberger, Carrie Mauss, Angela Mechtel, and Nathan Smith.

Logan High School: Heidi Bothun, Kristen Bothun, Mark Kuroski, Emily Lanzel, Dylan Morris, and Cassie Strong.

Onalaska High School: Emily Ballnger, Jameson Bothe, William Bronston, Andrew Litscher, Michael Matysik, and Noelle Weber.

West Salem High School: Eric Dale, Jenna Dowiasch, Ashley Friell, Kristy Koopman, Tim Ruppert, and Audra Schomberg.

UW-La Crosse: Suzanne Barofsky, Heidi Hunter, Mai Nhia Vue, Courtney Wigdahl, Katy Wittmer, and Nikki Zellner.

Viterbo University: Timothy Boehnen (Mt. Horeb), Elizabeth Cline (Holmen), Arthur Karbowski (La Crosse), Molly Nesbitt (Marshfield), Emily Seberger (Marshalltown, Iowa), and Chrissy Taylor (Sun Prairie).

WWTC: Susan Ames, Paulette Bradley, Patricia Ellsworth, Robert Stylen, Rosemary Whitinger, and Henry Yarghn.

Recent News

Icon University of Opportunity: Hope and Help Campaign Announcement

Since the trustees-approved University of Opportunity: Hope and Help comprehensive campaign began quietly in January 2008, $37 million of the $40 million goal has been raised.

Icon Viterbo Granted Approval to Offer First Doctorate Program: Doctor of Nursing Practice
The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges (HLC) has granted Viterbo University approval to offer a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree beginning this fall.
Icon Viterbo University Named to G.I. Jobs List of Military Friendly Schools
Viterbo University has been named to G.I. Jobs 2013 list of Military Friendly Schools, which recognizes the top 15 percent of colleges, universities, and trade schools nationwide that deliver the best experience for military students.

RSS FeedSubscribe to RSS Feed      News Archives
University Publications