News Archives     Campus Events     University Publications


LA CROSSE, Wis.—Four new members have been appointed to the Viterbo College Board of Directors for four-year terms beginning this October. They are:  Glenn Forbes, MD; Donna Hansen; Karen Lueck, FSPA; and Nola Jo Starling-Ratliff.

Dr. Forbes has been President and CEO of Franciscan Skemp Healthcare since January 1998 and has served on its Board of Directors since March 1997. He has been the Mayo Clinic physician liaison to the Franciscan Skemp management group since July 1997. Prior to joining Franciscan Skemp, Dr. Forbes was chair of the Mayo Clinic Department of Diagnostic Radiology. He received his undergraduate degree in preprofessional studies at the University of Notre Dame and his medical degree from Yale University School of Medicine. After medical school, he cared for patients at the Navajo reservation at Gallup, New Mexico. Dr. Forbes completed his postgraduate training in diagnostic radiology at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine and, in 1977, completed a special fellowship in neuroradiology at Mayo Clinic. He is a nationally recognized radiologist who frequently lectures at national and international conferences.

Hansen is a graduate of Madison General Hospital School of Nursing. She is presently a member of the United States Council of Catholic Bishops National Advisory Committee and serves as co-chair of the Riverfront, Inc. major gifts campaign. From 1998-99, Hansen served as Chair of the Board of Directors for Riverfront, Inc. and, from 1994-96 as President of the Diocesan Council of Catholic Women. For 25 years, she was a religious education instructor in her local parish and served as a member of the Bangor School Board. The Central Preparatory Commission for Synod V and a committee for Ministry to Persons with Special Needs, both for the Diocese of La Crosse, are parts of Hansen’s service efforts. In 1997, Hansen and her husband, John, were invested in the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem whose purpose is to promote a Christian presence in the Holy Land through prayer, education, and financial support.

Sr. Lueck is a Franciscan Sister of Perpetual Adoration and currently serves as a member of their Leadership Team.  She received her undergraduate degree in Elementary Education from the University of Northern Iowa—Cedar Falls in 1971 and went on to teach elementary school in Cedar Rapids, West Point and Bellevue, Iowa. She then served as an elementary principal in Oklahoma City. In 1991, Sr. Lueck received a Master of Arts degree in Pastoral Counseling from Loyola University in Chicago and, in 1996, earned a Doctor of Ministry degree from Chicago Theological Seminary. From 1996-98,  Sr. Lueck served as a pastoral associate in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. She is licensed in Iowa as a mental health counselor and currently lives in Hiawatha, Iowa.

Since 1993, Starling-Ratliff has been the principal of Horlick High School in Racine. Prior to that, she spent two years as principal of Hamilton High School in Sussex. Starling-Ratliff graduated from Viterbo College in 1974 with a degree in music education and voice minor. She went on to receive a Master of Science degree in Administrative Leadership from the University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee in 1982. Starling-Ratliff has been associated with many civic organizations including the Racine Black Caucus and the Racine Alliance of Black School Educators. She was also a member of the Racine Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Committee. In 1997, Starling-Ratliff was awarded the Viterbo College Outstanding Alumni Award for exemplary service to her community.

Continuing members of the Viterbo College Board of Directors include: William Bast; Brian Campion; Gerald Connolly; Ruth Dalton; Celesta Day, FSPA; Michon Desmond, FSPA; Rev. J. Thomas Finucan; Anita Froegel; Charles Gelatt; Paulynn Instenes, FSPA; Alice Kaiser, FSPA; Ladonna Kassmeyer, FSPA; Richard Lommen; Marlene (Mirsch) Marschall; Grace McDonald, FSPA; Raymond Nass; Robert Poehling; Bernadette Prochaska, FSPA; Richard Record; Marykaye Robers; Lindon Saline; James Senty; Harold Swanson; Sue Ann Thompson; Julie Tydrich, FSPA; Marlene Weisenbeck, FSPA; Thomas Williams; and William J. Medland. 

Recent News

Icon University of Opportunity: Hope and Help Campaign Announcement

Since the trustees-approved University of Opportunity: Hope and Help comprehensive campaign began quietly in January 2008, $37 million of the $40 million goal has been raised.

Icon Viterbo Granted Approval to Offer First Doctorate Program: Doctor of Nursing Practice
The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges (HLC) has granted Viterbo University approval to offer a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree beginning this fall.
Icon Viterbo University Named to G.I. Jobs List of Military Friendly Schools
Viterbo University has been named to G.I. Jobs 2013 list of Military Friendly Schools, which recognizes the top 15 percent of colleges, universities, and trade schools nationwide that deliver the best experience for military students.

RSS FeedSubscribe to RSS Feed      News Archives
University Publications