Viterbo University Spring Commencement May 13

May 1, 2017

Contact Kori Salaski at 608-796-3185 or


LA CROSSE, Wis. – Four hundred thirty-three students, 332 undergraduate, 96 graduate, and five associate degree students, will be candidates for graduation at Viterbo University’s spring commencement ceremony at 2 p.m. Saturday, May 13 at the La Crosse Center.

Tom Knothe, dean of the College of Business and Leadership, will serve as Master of Ceremonies, and Jedidiah Barton, a biopsychology major from Brownsville, Wis., will give the student address. Kathy Duerwachter ’10, Viterbo director of alumni relations, will give the alumni welcome. Viterbo President Glena Temple will confer the degrees and Mary Ann Gschwind, FSPA, member of the Board of Trustees, will provide congratulatory remarks. Debra Daehn-Zellmer, assistant dean of the College of Nursing, Health, and Human Behavior, and Sara Cook, assistant vice president for academic affairs, will present the candidates. The diplomas will be awarded by President Temple, Gschwind, and Liza Ware, associate professor of psychology and chair of the faculty council. Alumni board member Jacqueline Baures’11, ’14, will lead the Prayer of St. Francis and Fr. Conrad Targonski, OFM, will give the benediction.

Receiving the title of Professor Emeritus are retiring faculty members Maribel Bird, world languages and cultures, and Connie Fossen, social work, sociology, and criminal justice.

A Baccalaureate Mass will be held that morning at 11 a.m. in San Damiano Chapel on the Viterbo campus. Fr. Targonski will preside at the liturgy.

The nursing pinning ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, May 12 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre. The BSN Completion program pinning ceremony will be held at 8:30 a.m. May 13 in the Fine Arts Center Recital Hall. A ceremony in which master’s degree candidates receive their academic hoods will be held at 9:45 a.m. May 13 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre.