Viterbo Employees Honored at Rose Awards

Ruth Davis, chemistry, was named Viterbo’s 2017 Teacher of the Year at the annual Rose Awards ceremony May 4.

“Through my years of schooling I have never met a teacher who has been so willing to help her students succeed,” wrote a student who nominated her for the award. “The second you walk through the classroom door you can tell how passionate Ruth is for the subject she teaches. I am beyond blessed to have taken this course because in Ruth I have found a friend, confident, and mentor.”

Carolyn Hanoski, academic affairs, was named Employee of the Year.

Carolyn has been an outstanding employee at Viterbo for more than 32 years and she epitomizes the university mission of faithful service and ethical leadership,” wrote a person who nominated her for the award. “She genuinely respects all who walk into the VPAA.” 

Others honored at the Rose Awards were:

  • Daniel Johnson-Wilmot, music received the Sr. Helen Elsbernd Distinguished Service Award, which is presented to a person who has provided outstanding service to the university for more than 20 years, typically in more than one capacity.
  • Deb Murray, mental health counseling, was presented with the Alec Chiu Award, which is given for exceptional work in fostering and developing scholarly opportunities for both students and faculty.
  • Maribel Bird, world languatges  received the Father J. Thomas Finucan Exemplar of Mission Award. The award is given to a person who has demonstrated exemplary dedication to the mission of the university.
  • The D.B. Reinhart Institute for Ethics in Leadership received the Pax et Bonum Award, which is given in recognition of the demonstrating of the Franciscan values of service, respect, hospitality, stewardship, and joy throughout the Viterbo community.
  • Mary Therese Rinzel, nursing, was presented with the Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advisor Awards for her work with students.
  • Receiving Servant Leader Awards for outstanding leadership were Danita Doerre, Fine Arts Center, Kirsten Gabriel, honors program and undergraduate research and service learning, Sheila Severson, president’s office, Delayne Vogel, nursing, and Bill Walsh, physical plant.
  • Receiving Outstanding Adjunct Professor Awards for their respective schools were Brian Rotty, College of Business and Leadership, Christopher Rogers, College of Arts and Letters, Jessalyn McGuire, College of Education, Science, and Mathematics, and Michael Brandt, College of Nursing, Health, and Human Behavior.

Photos of all of the recipients can be seen on Flickr at