Spring Commencement is Saturday

Four hundred seventy-five students, 367 undergraduate, 106 graduate, and two associate degree students, will be candidates for graduation at Viterbo’s spring commencement ceremony at 2 p.m. Saturday, May 12 at the La Crosse Center.

Tracy Stewart, vice president for academic affairs, will serve as Master of Ceremonies, and Cameron Reider, a nursing major from La Crescent, Minn., will give the student address. Kathy Duerwachter ’10, Viterbo director of alumni relations, will give the alumni welcome. Viterbo President Glena Temple will confer the degrees and Kent Handel, chair of the Board of Trustees, will provide congratulatory remarks. Liza Ware, chair of the faculty council, and Dale Krageschmidt, co-director of the Master of Business Administration program, will present the candidates. The diplomas will be awarded by President Temple, Stewart, and Handel. Alumni board member Katie Marti ’11, ’14, will lead the Prayer of St. Francis and Fr. Conrad Targonski, OFM, will give the benediction.

All faculty and employees are invited to participate. Faculty and other participants should line up in the north lobby no later than 1:40 p.m. Enter through the main doors on 2nd Street and look for the signs. There will not be secure storage for personal items, so leave handbags and other personal items in your vehicle.

The same tips for graduates also apply to wearing the faculty regalia—gowns should be pressed and worn with dark slacks or hosiery and dark shoes, caps should be worn level (not tipped back), no jewelry or other adornments should be worn with the gowns, and faculty tassels are worn on the left side.

After the ceremony, the faculty will be led out after the stage party. The marshals will stop the faculty to form two lines along the edges of the aisle, so the graduates can pass between them as they exit. Faculty members are encouraged to applaud the graduates as they pass.

Receiving the title of Professor Emeritus are retiring faculty members David Gardiner, theatre and music theatre, Bill Reese, religious studies, and Delayne Vogel, nursing. Handel, who will conclude his term as chair of the Board of Trustees but will remain a member, will receive special recognition.

A Baccalaureate Mass will be held that morning at 11 a.m. in San Damiano Chapel on the Viterbo campus. Fr. Targonski will preside at the liturgy.

The nursing pinning ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, May 11 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre. The BSN Completion program pinning ceremony will be held at 8:30 a.m. May 12 in the Fine Arts Center Nola Starling Recital Hall. A ceremony in which graduate degree candidates receive their academic hoods will be held at 9:45 a.m. May 12 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre.