St. Catherine's Medal

The St. Catherine's Medal (SCM) honors students who represent the high ideals of a Catholic college education, including but not limited to Viterbo University's core values of contemplation, hospitality, integrity, stewardship, and service.

Any Viterbo student (graduate or undergraduate) who has not previously received the award is eligible.

Call for Nominations:
The nomination process for 2014-2015 can concluded. The 2015-2016 nomination window will open at the end of January 2016. 

Nominees will be evaluated on the extent to which he or she has:

  • demonstrated dedication to his or her Catholic education,
  • demonstrated leadership,
  • participated in service to Viterbo or the broader community on behalf of Viterbo University,
  • worked to fulfill the Viterbo mission and is a role model within our Franciscan community, and
  • stood their ground against the constraints placed upon them.

An important note to nominators:
The SCM Selection Committee relies heavily on the information provided via the nomination forms. Robust nominations that include specific examples of the above-listed criteria give us a more complete picture of each nominee and help us select the best candidates.  Thanks in advance for your help in this regard.

The St. Catherine's Medal is presented at the annual Student Leader Recognition Dinner on March 23, 2015. The student recipients and their nominators will receive invitations to the dinner.

Contact Kirsten Gabriel at or Lisa Konkel at

Past recipients